top of page
Maya Villanueva (2023, Ediluz)

To be noted first: the soloist Maya Villanueva, with a moving timbre of voice, astonishing power and a very convincing sense of nuance too. The soprano emerges as the star of the evening!”  ResMusica, 2019

FEATURED VIDEO

Actualité

NEWS

Agenda

UPCOMING EVENTS

FALL 2023

22

SEP

8:00 pm

Gérard Pesson

Les Métaboles

Paris Autumn Festival

Saint-Eustache Church

03

NOV

CD Release

Falla the Parisian

With David Saudubray, piano

Klarthe Records

08

NOV

8:30 am

Guest of the day by Gabrielle Oliveira Guyon on the show “Musique Matin”

France Musique

23

NOV

8:00 pm

Obliques cycle III - Trees

Solo soprano

Regards Ensemble & Cie Vahram Zaryan

Sonomundo Festival

Bibliothèque Musicale

Lagrange-Fleuret, Paris

25

NOV

9:00 pm

Vers toi qui est si loin 

Soprano solo

Ravel, Saariaho, Hudry, Trollet...

Regards Ensemble

Sonomundo Festival

Bibliothèque Musicale

Lagrange-Fleuret, Paris

03

DEC

4:00 pm

Italian splendors

Carissimi, Gabrieli, Allegri

Ensemble La Ninna

With Yoann Moulin, harpsichord

Neuilly Festival

08

DEC

8:30 pm

Record release concert

Falla le Parisien

With David Saudubray, piano

Salle Colonne, Paris

12

DEC

8:00 pm

Singing Ravel

Les Métaboles

Works by Ravel

Privas Theater,

Ardeche

Bio
Maya Villanueva ©Jean-Baptiste Millot.jpg

BIOGRAPHY

Light lyrical soprano, Maya Villanueva puts her voice at the service of many aesthetics, from the Baroque and Mozartian repertoire to the 20th century, including French melody and the Hispano-American repertoire. She also defends the music of today's composers on stage and on record.

In April 2022, she will sing the role of Zélime in La Caravane du Caire by André Modeste Grétry at the Grand Théâtre de Tours. In May 2018, she created the title role of the opera by Benoît Menut Fando et Lis at the Opéra de Saint-Étienne (dir. Daniel Kawka). She also collaborates with Michaël Levinas during the creation of her last opera The Little Prince (doubling of the title role). She is the creator of works by Gabriel Sivak ( Tres Instantes Oníricos for voice, cello and piano), Magic Malik (Odes and Lahera around the tabla), Benoît Menut (Quantas, Grand Prix SACEM 2016), Suzanne Giraud (Le Chant du Marais, musical tale by, and with Pascal Quignard).

In October 2019, she is the soloist of Les Enfants du Marais by Suzanne Giraud, a World Premiere with the Philharmonic Orchestra and the Maîtrise de Radio France, in partnership with France Culture. She also sings the roles of Barbarina (Mozart, Le Nozze di Figaro, Opéra en Plein Air), Florentine (Caccini / Cavalieri, La Pellegrina, Opéra de Dijon), Drusilla (Monteverdi, L'Incoronazione di Poppea), Amour (Gluck, Orphée et Eurydice), Suzanne (Mozart, Le Nozze di Figaro), Elisa (Mozart, Il Re Pastore).

She gives numerous recitals: Lima (Peru), Trondheim (Norway), La Scala Paris, Festival Royaumont, Paris Salle Gaveau, Salle Cortot, Festival de Saintes, Mercredis Musicaux de l'Opéra de Lille, Festival de Chaillol, Festival International of Beauvais...

Her discography includes the complete melodies for voice and piano of Alberto Ginastera (2016, Klarthe Records / **** Classica, 4 keys Opéra Magazine, ***** Pizzicato), the Songs of Prévert & Kosma (2015, Anima) as well as the melodies of Claude Debussy in a double CD with the Quintette Syntonia (2018, Klarthe Records/ **** Classica) and the music of the Argentinian composer Gabriel Sivak (La Patience, 2019, Klarthe Records). She is also the vocal soloist of the CD of music by Benoît Menut entitled Les Îles (June 2020, Harmonia Mundi). Her new album Falla le Parisien with pianist David Saudubray, was released in November 23.

Born in Paris and of Peruvian origin, Maya comes from a family of artists. She began to play music by learning the violin and the piano, then at the age of ten, she joined the Maîtrise de Radio France. She acquired a solid musical education there and sang with conductors such as Seiji Ozawa, Kent Nagano, James Conlon, Charles Dutoit… She then studied at the Conservatoire de Région in Paris (CRR) while following a course in Literature, Language and Spanish/ Latin American Civilizations. at the University of Paris III (Sorbonne Nouvelle) , before being admitted to the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique (CNSMDP) in Paris. She also studied with Sophie Hervé and Jean-Philippe Lafont, completed her training by learning baroque with Nicolau de Figueiredo, Leonardo García Alarcón, Andreas Scholl and melody and lied with Patrick Cohen, Maciej Pikulski, François Le Roux, Jeff Cohen and Christian Ivaldi.

bottom of page

2020, Capucine de Chocqueuse 2 copy.jpg

"Notre grand coup de cœur va à la soprano Maya Villanueva. Elle a certainement été sirène dans une vie antérieure, tant son chant est envoûtant.”

Ouest France, 2020

À signaler en premier lieu : la soliste Maya Villanueva, au timbre de voix bouleversant, à la puissance étonnante et au sens des nuances très convaincant aussi. La soprano s’impose comme l’étoile de la soirée !" 

ResMusica, 2019

"La distribution est idéale. La soprano Maya Villanueva fait entendre de beaux aigus, pour une Lis émouvante."

Opéra Magazine, 2018

"Un magnétisme indéniable sur scène." 

Classiquenews, 2018

VILLANUEVA

MAYA 

 

ACTUALITÉ

VIDÉO À LA UNE

 

AGENDA

2021

11

SEPT

20h30

Oratorios, Les Métaboles

Œuvres de Saint-Saëns, Chassaing

Festival Septembre Musical de l'Orme

17

SEPT

20h

Metz, Cité Musicale

Apocalypsis, Les Métaboles

Œuvres d'Édith Canat-de-Chizy

24

SEPT

20h30

Vox Naturæ, Les Métaboles

Œuvres de Murray Schafer

Strasbourg, Festival Musica

03

OCT

15h30

Oratorios, Les Métaboles

Œuvres de Saint-Saëns, Chassaing

Festival Royaumont

11

OCT

20h

Concert dans le cadre du Concours International de Chant George Enescu

Œuvres de Gabriel Sivak, George Enescu

Avec Patrick Langot, Romain David

Paris, Ambassade de Roumaine

21

OCT

20h

Oratorios, Les Métaboles

Œuvres de Saint-Saëns, Chassaing

Caen, Église N-D de la Gloriette

26

NOV

Harawi

Œuvres de Debussy, Messiæn, Valcarcel, Trollet

Fernando Valcarcel, piano

Paris, Atelier de la Main d'Or

27

NOV

20h

Death of light

Œuvres de Jonhatan Harvey, Valcarcel

Avec l'Ensemble Regards

Paris, Cité Internationale des Arts

18

DÉC

Messe de Minuit, M.A. Charpentier

(Dessus)  Alia Mens/ Olivier Spilmont

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Église St Nicolas

2022

30

JAN

16h

Singing Ravel - Les Métaboles

Œuvres de Ravel

Metz, Cité Musicale

12

22

MARS

Al Gran Sole Carico d'Amore

Luigi Nono

Allemagne, Staatstheater Mainz

01

08

10

AVRIL

Al Gran Sole Carico d'Amore

Luigi Nono

Allemagne, Staatstheater Mainz

20h

La Caravane du Caire, André Modeste Grétry

Rôle de Zélime

Dir: Stéphanie-Marie Degand

Mise en scène : Marshall Pynkoski

Grand Théâtre de Tours

24

26

AVRIL

14

MAI

Œuvres d'Arvo Pärt

Alia Mens/ Olivier Spilmont

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Église St Nicolas

28

MAI

Messe Un jour ordinaire, Bernard Cavanna

Les Métaboles/ Ensemble Multilatérale

Metz, Cité Musicale

JUIN

Récitals avec Fernando Valcarcel (piano)

Œuvres de Debussy, Messiæn, Valcarcel...

Tournée au Pérou

JUIL/AOÛT

Pelléas et Mélisande, Claude Debussy

Rôle d'Yniold/ Dir. Frédéric Chaslin

Tournée en France

 
2020%2C%20Capucine%20de%20Chocqueuse%203

BIOGRAPHIE

Soprano lyrique léger, Maya Villanueva met sa voix au service de nombreuses esthétiques, depuis le répertoire baroque et mozartien jusqu’au XXe, en passant par la mélodie française et le répertoire hispano-américain. Elle défend également sur scène comme au disque la musique des compositeurs d’aujourd’hui.

Elle incarnera en avril 2022 le rôle de Zélime dans La Caravane du Caire d’André Modeste Grétry au Grand Théâtre de Tours. En mai 2018, elle crée le rôle-titre de l’opéra de Benoît Menut Fando et Lis à l’Opéra de Saint-Étienne (dir. Daniel Kawka). Elle collabore aussi avec Michaël Levinas lors de la création de son dernier opéra Le Petit Prince (doublure du rôle-titre). Elle est la créatrice d’œuvres de Gabriel Sivak (Tres Instantes Oníricos pour voix, violoncelle et piano), Magic Malik (Odes et Lahera autour du tabla), Benoît Menut (Quantas, Grand Prix SACEM 2016), Suzanne Giraud (Le Chant du Marais, conte musical de, et avec Pascal Quignard).

Elle est en octobre 2019 la soliste des Enfants du Marais de Suzanne Giraud, création avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique et la Maîtrise de Radio France, en partenariat avec France Culture. Elle chante également les rôles de Barbarina (Mozart, Le Nozze di Figaro, Opéra en Plein Air), Florentine (Caccini / Cavalieri, La Pellegrina, Opéra de Dijon), Drusilla (Monteverdi, L'Incoronazione di Poppea), Amour (Gluck, Orphée et Eurydice), Suzanne (Mozart, Le Nozze di Figaro), Elisa (Mozart, Il Re Pastore).

Elle donne enfin de nombreux récitals : Lima (Pérou), Trondheim (Norvège), La Scala Paris, Festival Royaumont, Paris Salle Gaveau, Salle Cortot, Festival de Saintes, Mercredis Musicaux de l’Opéra de Lille, Festival de Chaillol, Festival International de Beauvais…

Sa discographie comporte l’intégrale des mélodies pour voix et piano d’Alberto Ginastera (2016, Klarthe Records/ ****Classica, 4 clés Opéra Magazine, *****Pizzicato), les Chansons de Prévert & Kosma (2015, Anima) ainsi que les mélodies de Claude Debussy dans un double CD avec le Quintette Syntonia (2018, Klarthe Records/ ****Classica) et la musique du compositeur argentin Gabriel Sivak (La Patience, 2019, Klarthe Records/ sélection du Grand Prix Lycéen des Compositeurs 2020). Elle est également la soliste vocale du CD de la musique de Benoît Menut intitulé Les Îles (juin 2020, Harmonia Mundi). Son prochain disque, consacré aux mélodies de Manuel de Falla, sortira à l’automne 2022 chez Klarthe Records.

Née à Paris et d’origine péruvienne, Maya est issue d’une famille d’artistes. Elle commence la musique par l’apprentissage du violon et du piano, puis intègre à l'âge de dix ans la Maîtrise de Radio France. Elle y acquiert une solide formation musicale et chante sous la direction de chefs tels que Seiji Ozawa, Kent Nagano, James Conlon, Charles Dutoit… Elle étudie ensuite au CRR de Paris tout en suivant un cursus de Littérature, Langue et Civilisations Espagnole/ Amérique Latine à l’Université de Paris III (Sorbonne Nouvelle), avant d’être admise au CNSM de Paris. Elle reçoit les conseils de Sophie Hervé et Jean-Philippe Lafont et complète sa formation par l'apprentissage du baroque avec Nicolau de Figueiredo, Leonardo García Alarcón, Andreas Scholl et travaille la mélodie et le lied avec Patrick Cohen, Maciej Pikulski, François Le Roux, Jeff Cohen et Christian Ivaldi.